

Government of the District of Columbia

ADVISORY NEIGHBORHOOD COMMISSION 5A 5171 South Dakota Avenue NE, Suite 125 Washington, DC 20017

RESOLUTION IN SUPPORT OF A PARK AT THE SOUTHWEST CORNER OF RIGGS ROAD AND SOUTH DAKOTA AVE NE

WHEREAS, the Council of the District of Columbia approved the Riggs Road and South Dakota Avenue Small Area Plan (SAP) on March 3, 2009, to develop a strategic plan and revitalization strategy for the area surrounding the intersection of Riggs Road and South Dakota Avenue NE; and

WHEREAS, one of the short-term goals of the SAP was the creation of a park at the southwest corner of Riggs Road and South Dakota Avenue NE; and

WHEREAS, in 2017, ANC 5A voted unanimously in support of the creation of the aforementioned park (ANC 5A Resolution Requesting Development Of A DPR-Managed Park On The Southwest Corner Of Riggs Road And South Dakota Ave., September 27, 2017); and

WHEREAS, the aforementioned SAP was fully incorporated into the 2021 DC Comprehensive Plan; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that ANC 5A strongly reiterates its previous support for the development of a DC Department of Parks and Recreation-managed park at the southwest corner of Riggs Road and South Dakota Ave NE; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that ANC 5A requests the District government regularly consult with ANC 5A, other nearby ANCs, and neighborhood groups in the vicinity of the greenspace in the development of the aforementioned park to ensure that community desires are reflected in the final designs.

Gordon-Andrew Fletcher

Gordon-Andrew Fletcher, Chairman Advisory Neighborhood Commission 5A

APPROVED: Feb. 22, 2023

ANC 5A is comprised of seven (7) Commissioners and therefore four (4) Commissioners constitutes a quorum. On February 22, 2023 at a duly noticed Public Meeting of ANC 5A, seven (7) Commissioners attended the meeting. At the time of voting to adopt the above resolution there were seven (7) Commissioners present and voting. ANC 5A voted

ANC 5A Commissioners (2023-2024)

5A01 Duvalier Malone

5A02 Karlus Cozart, Parliamentarian

5A03 Emily Singer Lucio, Corresponding Secretary

5A04 Alex "Diego" Rojas

5A05 VACANT

5A06 Kweku Touré, Vice Chair

5A07 VACANT

5A08 Gordon-Andrew Fletcher, Chairman

5A09 Zachary Ammerman, *Treasurer*

7-0-0 to approve the Motion; and specifically requested that ANC 5A's comments be afforded the "great weight" prescribed pursuant to the DC Home Rule Charter.

ANC 5A Commissioners (2023-2024)

5A01 Duvalier Malone

5A03 Emily Singer Lucio, Corresponding Secretary

5A05 VACANT

5A07 VACANT 5A09 Zachary Ammerman, Treasurer

5A02 Karlus Cozart, Parliamentarian

5A04 Alex "Diego" Rojas **5A06 Kweku Touré,** Vice Chair

5A08 Gordon-Andrew Fletcher, Chairman